Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin are committed to providing the highest quality health care to our patients. Please take a moment to review our national accreditations.

Joint Commission Accreditation

All Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin hospitals – Froedtert Hospital, Milwaukee; Community Memorial Hospital, Menomonee Falls; and St. Joseph’s Hospital, West Bend – are accredited by The Joint Commission, an independent nonprofit organization.

Joint Commission accreditation is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality, reflecting an organization’s commitment to meeting standards of patient safety and care. The commission conducts extensive onsite visits of health care providers every three years and evaluates every aspect of patient care delivery.

Program Accreditation

Medical programs at Froedtert Hospital, Community Memorial Hospital and St. Joseph’s Hospital are accredited by many state and national certifying agencies. Some highlights are listed below. Additional accreditations are described within each medical service section on this website.

Level I Trauma Center

Froedtert Hospital is home to eastern Wisconsin’s only adult Level I Trauma Center. The classification, by the American College of Surgeons, means the trauma center provides the highest level of specialty expertise and meets strict national standards. Froedtert Hospital was most recently reverified in 2013.


The Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Stroke and Neurovascular Program was the first in the state to receive Primary Stroke Center certification and one of the first in the nation to be certified as a Comprehensive Stroke Center by The Joint Commission, along with the American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association. This national recognition establishes Froedtert Hospital as part of an elite group of industry leaders with the staff, training, tools, technology and 24/7 availability to provide the most advanced stroke care in the region.

The Comprehensive Epilepsy Program at Froedtert Hospital is Joint Commission-certified as a Center of Excellence for Epilepsy, one of only four hospitals in the country with this certification. The program is also designated a Level 4 epilepsy center — the highest rating — by the National Association of Epilepsy Centers.

Heart and Vascular

Froedtert Hospital is one of only three providers in the state that meets The Joint Commission’s stringent volume and clinical quality requirements and was awarded the Gold Seal of Approval for their Adult Ventricular Assist Device (VAD) Destination Therapy Program.

The Heart and Vascular Centers at Froedtert Hospital and Community Memorial Hospital are designated as Blue Distinction Centers for Cardiac Care by Blue Cross and Blue Shield. Recognized centers meet overall quality measures for patient safety and outcomes, developed with input from the medical community.

The Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia (HHT) Program at Froedtert Hospital is one of only 15 in the country designated by the HHT Foundation as a Center of Excellence. Centers meet guidelines established by the foundation and provide a coordinated team of experts to treat patients with hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia.

The echocardiography lab at the Heart and Vascular Center at Community Memorial Hospital is one of only two in southeastern Wisconsin to receive triple accreditation from the Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Echocardiography Laboratories. The certification means the lab meets standards for transthoracic echo, stress echo and transesophageal echo procedures.

Inpatient Rehabilitation

Froedtert Hospital’s inpatient rehabilitation programs earned accreditation from the Commission on the Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF). The programs receiving accreditation include brain injury, stroke, spinal cord injury, general rehab and outpatient stroke rehabilitation.

Community Memorial Hospital has also received CARF accreditation for its inpatient rehabilitation program, as well as the stroke specialty program.